Canvas Poetry

The fusion of poetry & art!

vase on the “potter’s wheel”

vase by onecanvasonesoul
vase, a photo by onecanvasonesoul on Flickr.

This is the poem that is found in the vase:

My terra cotta heart
kneads your love to grow
I beseech you to raise
me up
my empty vessel
may hold your water
and never thirst again.
(c) j.ajabad 2012

This piece occured in well pieces. The first line came when I was on my way home from the grocery store about a year ago actually. I scribbled the piece in my P.S and set it aside for a future poem. I came back to it last year when I was going through this “concrete” poem phase. The first line made me think of a potter’s wheel so I altered┬áthe “O” and proceeded to write the poem.

Eventually this poem found its away into my art journal in the midst of green acrylic paint, distressed ink, and paper flowers. This poem started out as a simple line which I put a side for later use and it took on its own shape much like a vessel on a potter’s wheel.

 

4 responses to “vase on the “potter’s wheel”

  1. Tomas December 31, 2012 at 4:05 am

    The picture caught me and reflected my own heart, thus your art rescued me from the thirst. Thank you and best wishes o you for the embellishment of our life

  2. Mollie July 17, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I really love this. The colours are beautiful together. It looks like you used a metallic or shiny paper for some of the flower parts, and that really makes them stand out. I absolutely love the vase – the crackled look on the outer layer of the vase is really awesome! The poem is very moving, fits well with the image, and was placed well in the image, too.
    Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

