Canvas Poetry

The fusion of poetry & art!

Lighthouse

“Winter Storm” Image courtesy of Evgeni Dinev/FreeDigitalphotos.net

I know not the sum
of moments
which cause the winds
to whisk me away,
or cerulean waves to siege my vessel
tossing me further out to sea
on this voyage we call life.
Yet there is a Lighthouse
standing upon the shore
its beams waving
with guiding hands
lovingly leading
and carrying me
toward the peace of greener pastures.

(c)j.ajabad 2012

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

One night last month, I couldn’t sleep. I was tossing and turning like a boat tosses about on the ocean, when the word lighthouse came to mind. The word gave me immediate peace. Then a poem came to mind and I was propelled to write a poem.

4 responses to “Lighthouse

  1. nothingprofound September 11, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Very nice. Proof of the power that lies in a single word.

  2. suzieashby September 13, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    This is a most excellent poem. I plan on reading a lot more of your writings in the future, so please don’t stop. I love it. Light & Hugs.

Leave a Reply

